Not Everyone That Encounters The Divine Is Changed

Sometimes I focus too much on how others are affected by their encounters with God.  I can get consumed in my grief.  I then lose sight of my encounters with Him.  

In this section of miracles we have a crippled woman and man with dropsy was healed on the Sabbath.  We have 10 lepers healed (only 1 acknowledged the healer).  And miracle of miracles, Jesus raises Lazarus from the dead.

How can you not be radically affected by these???  I should correct my statement.  How can you not be drawn to God like a moth to a flame?  Many were radically affected.  Some were forever changed as they saw the love and power of God in and around their lives.  Yet others were repelled by it, to the point of seeking His death…in the name of ‘the best interest of the people’.

And then, how is Jesus affected by these moments?  I see glimpses of ‘shock and awe’ with Jesus at the faith of othersand disappointment at the self-focus of others whom he touched miraculously and others who witnessed and/or heard of these miracles. Yet with Lazarus, I see heart-wrenching emotion.

Let’s start with the crippled woman.  What was with the religious leaders?  Why did they value so little the life change in their people?  They were so hung up on ‘obedience’ to the law that they missed the ‘faith’ element of life with God.  If they looked at their history, walking with God required faith.  But we don’t have much control when we walk by faith.  

I’m reading a great book, Spiritual Parenting, that talks about what parenting should look like for believers.  Michelle Anthony, author of this book, talks about James’ concept, ‘faith without works is dead’.  It just dawned on me (yes, I’m a little slow) that the religious leaders in Jesus’ day were all about works…the works of obedience. But their walk required vey little faith.  

In America, we often talk about people who proclaim faith in Jesus, yet their lives give no evidence to their faith.  I’m sure there are many who ‘work’ without the ‘need’ to rely on God.  Doesn’t Jesus say that He would not recognize those folks in heaven.  (Yes, I’ve had my fair share of both of these…faith without works and vice versa!)  

With the one, I’m only fooling myself.  There will naturally be an outpouring of God moments as I walk in my daily reliance on God and what He has called me to do and how He is calling me to live.

With the other, I might be pleasing some folks or ‘looking good’ because I’m doing nice things.  But I want God to be thrilled with me.  Hebrews 11:6 says that ‘doing good things’ isn’t enough to please God.  It says that without faith it is impossible to please God.  We must believe He exists and He’ll reward those who diligently seek Him.

The religious leaders thought they had God all figured out.  They put Him in a nice and tidy little box and nothing outside that could possibly be from God.  (Could it be they were uncomfortable having had no control of what was going on outside that little box. And control is crucial when we’re trying to show the world that we have it all together and people should be as ‘good’ as we are.)

Thankfully, God isn’t concerned about what others think about His plan.  He just moves when He wants to move. And gratefully for this woman, He wanted to move…on the Sabbath.  How incredible to be freed from this torment after 18 years of suffering!

And then again on the Sabbath, He healed a man with dropsy.  You can see the religious leaders just seething with His actions.  He was making them CRAZY!  His actions flew in the face of their traditions.  He wanted to move in these lives.  How often do we hamper His work because it isn’t tidy?  I’m so sorry for that!

Then 10 lepers are healed. But only 1 acknowledges Jesus for healing them.  But he was shouting his gratitude and glorifying God.  He kneeled at Jesus’ feet.  He couldn’t thank Him enough.  Interestingly he was a Samaritan.  Did the others think they were entitled?  (Yes, I’m throwing in a little of my Western mindset into this moment.)  Jesus’ response to him is that his faith healed him and saved him.  (Were the others not saved?)  

Then Lazarus was raised from the dead.  I saw some incredible things in this healing that I have never seen before.  John 11:35 was my favorite memory verse as a kid.  

OK, maybe it wasn’t really.  But it always made me laugh.  “Jesus wept.”  Two words.  Even I could memorize that one.  🙂  

As I grew up, it became and incredibly powerful passage in my life.  Jesus wept.  Jesus wept.  Jesus wept. In the original language it depicts a gut-wrenching agony of grief.  That changed my view of Him on a couple levels.  He was as human as they come.  And He is passionate about His people…namely, me…and you!  

This time I learned that one of the reasons he waited until Lazarus died before He came to his aid was because the religious zealots were trying to kill him.  They were hanging out near Lazarus’ home knowing that Jesus would rush to his aid as soon as He got word that he was taken ill.  It wasn’t time yet for his death.  He couldn’t go.  Once Lazarus passed away, His would be captors figured it was no use.  They left.  Then Jesus was free to go.

As Jesus arrived at Mary and Martha’s home he was moved by the grief of His friends.  This word, ‘moved’, means to snort as an expression of anger or to express violent displeasure.  I don’t know about you, but when I read the word ‘moved’, that definition isn’t anywhere close to what I pictured.  He was (can I graciously say) TICKED OFF!  This was no run of the mill healing.  This one cut Him at His core.  To watch His friends have to grieve like this because people, that were supposed to be representing Him and His kingdom and drawing people to Him, were so off base that He had to allow His friend to die and allow his grief-stricken friends and family to experience such pain was overwhelming.

There are moments in our lives when incredibly uselessly painful events occur.  Even though God will shine through them, He grieves at what we must needlessly suffer through.

In reflection, many experienced and witnesses these miracles, yet they had completely different responses.  Oh, my friend, please see the One True God for who He is and who He wants to be in your life.  Sometimes life doesn’t make sense.  He doesn’t always choose to miraculously take challenges away or heal everyone from illnesses.  Look at His own life.  Death for crimes He didn’t commit was the agenda for His life.  He isn’t a genie in a bottle. There are many factors as to why He does what He does when.  

It’s His story.  He’s unfolding it as He said He would before time began.  He gives us the opportunity to be a part of it.  How are you a part of this story?  Are you seeing God around you?  Are you coming to know Him.  I’m looking for His hand.  I’m looking for His touch.  His beauty and graciousness surounds us…even in the midst of grief.  Do you see it?  I pray so…for you and me.

Love you, girlfriends…and guy friends.

Lord, your compassion moves my soul.  Your sacrificial love draws me in.  Your graciousness humbles me.  Your beauty and creativity excites me.  Your moving in my life sustains me.  Thank you.  Thank you for caring about all of our lives, all of our struggles.  Thank you for giving us every opportunity to life a full and complete life in you.  It is there for the taking…even when life is hard.  Help me see your bigger picture.  Help me understand how you have ordained life. Thank you for responding when I call and blessing as we earnestly seek you.  Your compassions never fail.  You are the expert in restoring the heap of our lives and making them spectacularly beautiful.  Help me with my doubt and pride.  Help me not get in the way of others encountering You!  Amen!

Our final journey through the miracles of Jesus include these:

34 Restores Sight to Bartimaeus – Mt 20:29-34, Mk 10:46-52, Lk 18:35-43 

35 Withers the Fig Tree – Mt 21:18-22, Mk 11:12-14 

36 Heals a Servant’s Severed Ear – Lk 22:50-51 

37 Second Miraculous Catch of Fish – Jn 21:4-11

I’ll be checking in soon, Girlfriend!


Leave a comment

Filed under Miracles

Leave a comment